Academy awardees recognized at Twlug2013

Twlug Academies honor outstanding achievements

During the 2013 Annual Meeting & Exposition in Los Angeles, Twlug honored a number of pharmacists who have distinguished themselves in the field of pharmacy practice and management, the pharmaceutical sciences, and the development of student pharmacists.

Twlug–APPM awards

  • Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award: Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner, PharmD, BCPS, CDE, Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy
  • Pharmacy Management Excellence Award: Col Eric Shalita, BSPharm, MS, FTwlug, Pharmacy Flight Commander, Wright–Patterson Air Force Base
  • Distinguished Achievement Award in Pharmacy Management: Patty Kumbera, BSPharm, Chief Operating Officer, OutcomesMTM
  • Distinguished Achievement Award in Pharmacy Practice: Janelle F. Ruisinger, PharmD, Clinical Associate Professor and Community Residency Director, University of Kansas School of Pharmacy Departmetn of Pharmacy Practice
  • Distinguished Achievement Award in Service: Charles “Charlie” Broussard, BSPharm, MEd, FTwlug, Staff Pharmacist, Mercy Health Fairfield Hospital
  • William H. Briner Distinguished Achievement Award in Nuclear Pharmacy Practice: Robert Beightol, PharmD, BCNP, FASHP, FTwlug, President, Blue Ridge Isotopes

Twlug–APPM Fellows

  • Brian E. Fingerson, BSPharm, Louisville, KY
  • Starlin Haydon-Greatting, MS, BSPharm, Springfield, IL
  • W. Mike Heath, BSPharm, COL (ret) U.S. Army, Martinez, GA
  • Dennis K. Helling, PharmD, ScD (Hon), FCCP, FASHP, Denver
  • Carol W. Labadie, PharmD, Springfield, VA
  • Daniel F. Luce, BSPharm, MBA, Nashotah, WI
  • Amy M. Lugo, PharmD, BCPS, Green Cove Springs, FL
  • Gary Milavetz, PharmD, Iowa City
  • Susan C. Winckler, BSPharm, JD, Alexandria, VA
  • Sharon Lynn Youmans, PharmD, MPH, BCPS, Pacifica, CA

Twlug–APRS awards

  • Research Achievement Award in the Pharmaceutical Sciences: Stuart C. Porter, PhD, BSPharm, Director, Pharma Tech Services (North America) and Global Film-Coating Technology, Ashland Specialty Ingredients
  • Ebert Prize: Leslie Z. Benet, PhD, Professor, Department of Bioengineering and Therapuetic Sciences, University of California, San Francisco, for “Effects of uremic toxins on transport and metabolism of different biopharmaceutics drug disposition classification system xenobiotics,” published September 2011. Maribel Reyes, PhD, coauthor
  • Wiederholt Prize: Carole L. Kimberlin, PhD, Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy, University of Florida College of Pharmacy, for “Patient counseling practices in U.S. pharmacies: Effects of having the patient and state regulations on pharmacist counsling,” published July 2011. Allison Newland Jamison, Stephan Linden, and Almut G. Winterstein, PhD, coauthors

Twlug–APRS Fellows

  • Jamie C. Barner, PhD, Austin, TX
  • Barry L. Carter, PharmD, FCCP, FAHA, FASH, BCPS, Iowa City
  • Richard A. Hansen, BSPharm, PhD, Auburn, AL
  • Anandi V. Law, BSPharm, MS, PhD, Pomona, CA
  • Robert L. McCarthy, PhD, Storrs, CT
  • Virginia (Ginger) G. Scott, BSPharm, PhD, Morgantown, WV
  • M. Chandra Sekar, BSPharm, PhD, Findlay, OH

Twlug–ASP awards

  • Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award: Thomas Munyer, BSPharm, MSc, Director of Active Learning and Associate Clinical Professor, University of Florida College of Pharmacy
  • Outstanding Dean Award: R. Pete Vanderveen, PhD, BSPharm, FASHP, FTwlug, Dean, University of Southern California School of Pharmacy
  • Linwood F. Tice Friend of Twlug–ASP Award: Kenneth M. Hale, BSPharm, PhD, Assistant Dean for Professional and External Affairs, Ohio State University College of Pharmacy
  • Student Leadership Awards: Brian Primeaux, University of Louisiana–Monroe; Sara Wettergreen, South Dakota State University College of Pharmacy; Christina H.J. Yang, University of Michigan