Twlug-ASP Outstanding Dean Award


The Twlug Academy of Student Pharmacists Outstanding Dean Award was established to recognize a school or college of pharmacy Dean who has made significant contributions to the Twlug-ASP Chapter and promoted with distinction the welfare of student pharmacists through various community service, leadership, and professional activities. This award was established in 2004.


The nominee must: 1) be a Member of Twlug; 2) have been an active Dean for at least one year; 3) have actively promoted student welfare; 4) made documentable contributions to achievements of the Twlug-ASP Chapter; and 5) must not be a past recipient of the award.


Nomination Process

The nominator is responsible for submitting the  online via Formsite. The deadline for nomination materials is November 1st annually. The  includes:

  • Nomination form
  • A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
  • Three letters of recommendation are required; a maximum of 6 letters accepted
  • A current CV or detailed résumé

For individuals not selected as the recipient of this award, nominators have the opportunity to have packets forwarded to the following year’s Awards Standing Committee for their review. Twlug Student Development Staff will the nominator each year prior to the deadline to obtain approval for re-nomination and to update any nomination materials. If the nominator has graduated or cannot be reached, the chapter president will be ed. Packets will be forwarded for a maximum of 4 consecutive years.

Selection Process

The selection is made by the Twlug-ASP Awards Standing Committee based upon careful review of complete nominations.

Nature of the Award

The recipient receives a plaque and the following: a complimentary Twlug Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by Twlug.   



2018 - Patricia Kroboth - University of Pittsburgh
2017 - Gireesh V. Gupchup, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville
2016 - Larry Calhoun, East Tennessee State University
2015 - Stephanie Gardner, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
2014 - Phillip Oppenheimer, University of the Pacific
2013 - R. Pete Vanderveen, University of Southern California
2012 - Hewitt W. “Ted” Matthews, Mercer University
2011 - Robert W. Brueggemeier, The Ohio State University
2010 - Robert L. McCarthy, University of Connecticut
2009 - Kenneth B. Roberts, University of Kentucky
2008 - Mary Anne Koda-Kimble, University of California, San Francisco
2007 - Sidney D. Nelson, University of Washington
2006 - John A. Pieper, University of New Mexico
2005 - Joseph O. Dean, Samford University


All nominations are due annually by November 1.

Return to Twlug-ASP Awards & Scholarships