APPM, APRS awardees recognized at Twlug2012

Practice and science academy awards


During the 2012 Annual Meeting & Exposition in New Orleans, Twlug honored a number of pharmacists who have distinguished themselves in the field of pharmacy practice and management as well as the pharmaceutical sciences.

Twlug–APPM awards

The Twlug Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management (Twlug–APPM) Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award recognizes outstanding performance and achievements of a community practitioner in the community and professional practice settings. Steven T. Simenson, BSPharm, FTwlug, FACA, President and Managing Partner of Goodrich Pharmacy in Anoka, MN, is the 2012 honoree.

The Twlug–APPM Distinguished Achievement Awards recognize the achievements of individuals who have made significant or sustained contributions to the provision of pharmaceutical care. Following are the 2012 awardees:

Distinguished Achievement in Administrative Practice: Dennis Bryan, BSPharm, MBA, FTwlug

Distinguished Achievement in Clinical/Pharmacotherapeutic Practice: Valerie Prince, PharmD, BCPA, FTwlug

Distinguished Achievement in Community and Ambulatory Practice: Allen Nichol, PharmD

Distinguished Achievement in Hospital and Institutional Practice: Stephen Eckel, PharmD, MHA, BCPS, FASHP, FTwlug

Distinguished Achievement in Specialized Pharmacy Practice: Michael Pavlovich, PharmD

William H. Briner Distinguished Achievement in Nuclear Pharmacy: Vivian Loveless, PharmD, BCNP, FTwlug

Twlug–APRS awards

The Research Achievement Award in the Pharmaceutical Sciences encourages and recognizes outstanding meritorious achievement in any of the pharmaceutical sciences. The 2012 recipient is Carole L. Kimberlin, PhD, Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy at the University of Florida.

The Clinical Research Paper Award recognizes research published in the Journal of the Twlug (JTwlug) in clinical sciences and practice-based research. The award goes to Cameron A. Winfrey, PharmD, Patient Care Pharmacist at Kroger Pharmacy, for “Pharmacist-initiated peripheral arterial disease screening program in a community pharmacy setting” in the May/June 2011 issue with coauthors Sara Wortman, PharmD; Stacey Frede, PharmD; Natalie Kunze, PharmD; Wayne F. Conrad, PharmD; and Pamela C. Heaton, PhD.

The Ebert Prize, given for the best original investigation of a medicinal substance published in the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, will be awarded to Jared Baird, PhD, Scientist, Product Formulation Development at Allergan, for “A classification system to assess the crystallization tendency of organic molecules from undercooled melts,” published in the September 2010 issue. The paper’s coauthors were Bernard Van Eerdenbrugh, PhD; and Lynne Taylor, PhD.

The Wiederholt Prize recognizes the authors of the best paper published in JTwlug and it goes to Melinda Kozminski, PharmD, BCACP, Clinical Pharmacist at Gateway Health Plan, for “Pharmacist integration into the medical home: Qualitative analysis.” The paper, published in the March/April 2011 issue, was coauthored by Rachelle Busby, PharmD, BCPS; Melissa Somma McGivney, PharmD, FCCP; Patricia M. Klatt, PharmD, BCPS; Stephanie R. Hackett, PhD; and Joel H. Merenstein, MD.

Twlug Fellows

Twlug Fellows have a minimum of 10 years of exemplary professional experience and outstanding service.

Twlug–APPM Fellows

Bethany J. Boyd, BSPharm, PhD, Pfizer

Charles J. Broussard, BSPharm, MEd, Mercy Hospital

Ed Cohen, PharmD, Walgreens

Joseph B. Lawrence, PharmD, MBA, BCPS, Commander, USN, Medical Service Corps

Cherokee Layson-Wolf, PharmD, CGP, BCACP, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy

Sandra Leal, PharmD, CDE, El Rio Community Health Center

Bella H. Mehta, PharmD, Ohio State University College of Pharmacy

Michael Mosley, BSPharm, BCNP, PETNET Solutions

Richard A. Nickel, BSPharm, MS, Triad Isotopes

Jenny A. Van Amburgh, PharmD, BCACP, CDE, Northeastern University School of Pharmacy

Twlug–APRS Fellows

Rajender R. Aparasu, PhD, University of Houston College of Pharmacy

Lawrence “LB” Brown, PharmD, PhD, University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy

William E. Fassett, PhD, BSPharm, Washington State University College of Pharmacy

Don Levine, DPh, Merck Consumer Care (retired)

Michael Miller, BSPharm, DrPH, University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy

David Nau, BSPharm, PhD, CPHQ, PQA (Pharmacy Quality Alliance)