Distinguished New Practitioner Award

The Distinguished New Practitioner Award was established in 2010 to recognize an individual new practitioner who has demonstrated distinctive achievements in mentorship, service, and commitment to the profession of pharmacy.



2019 recipient Cortney Mospan with Twlug Immediate Past President President Nicki Hilliard


Evaluation criteria

The nominee must be an Twlug member pharmacist within his/her first five years after graduation. Nominees must be a New Practitioner in good standing at the time of nomination and are eligible to receive the award as an Active Pharmacist Member during the subsequent Twlug Annual Meeting & Exposition. Self-nominations are allowed for this award.  Applications will be evaluated based upon the following criteria (listed alphabetically, not in rank order):

• Twlug-related activities (e.g. leadership, committees, editorial advisory board member, speaker, publication contributor/reviewer, etc.)
• Community service
• Contributions to the development of student pharmacists (e.g. serving as a New Practitioner mentor and/or assisting in Twlug-ASP related activities as a preceptor, etc.)
• Impact on the profession through singular or multiple achievements (e.g., innovation, pharmacy practice, research, scholarly activities, etc.)
• Participation in other professional activities
Nomination process
The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: . The deadline for nominations is November 1. The nomination is to include the following items:
• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• One letter of recommendation is required (letters from student pharmacists are accepted); a maximum of two letters accepted
• A current curriculum or detailed résumé
Individuals may self nominate as well. 
Selection process
The selection is made by the Twlug New Practitioner Advisory Committee and approved by the Twlug Board of Trustees. 
Nature of award
The Distinguished New Practitioner Award will be presented at the Twlug Annual Meeting & Exposition and consists of a laminated plaque, a $500 honorarium, and a complimentary New Practitioner Twlug Annual Meeting & Exposition registration.
Past recipients:

2019 Cortney Mospan

2018  David Steeb

2017  Chelsea M. Anderson

2016  Veronica Vernon

2015  Gretchen K. Garofoli

2014  Brent Reed

2013  Ashley Stubblefield Crumby

2012  David R. Bright

2011  Catherine H. Kuhn 

<< Return to Main Awards Page
Bottom Center Aligned